## **Endowed Chairs:**



**Gordon A. and Mary Cain Chair in Chemical Engineering**, established in 1998, will focus on industrial and chemical plant safety issues including: risk assessment, reliability, failure analysis and "forensic" engineering. Mr. Cain is a 1933 graduate of LSU in chemical engineering.

**Gordon A. and Mary Cain Chair in Chemical Engineering**, established in 1998, will focus on and expand faculty expertise in polymer processing, catalysis, electronic materials, electrochemistry, micro electroforming and biomaterials. Mr. Cain is a 1933 graduate of LSU in chemical engineering.

**Gordon A. and Mary Cain Chair in Chemical Engineering**, established in 1998, will expand and strengthen an already national level reputation in the environmental area. Particular emphasis will be on the fate and modeling of chemicals in the environment. Mr. Cain is a 1933 graduate of LSU in chemical engineering.

**Gordon A. and Mary Cain Chair in Chemical Engineering**, established in 1998, will focus on process control. Already with an international reputation in process control and optimization, this chair will further strengthen the department in this area and allow recruitment of an eminent scholar and support cooperative studies with local industry to bring advanced process control and on line optimization strategies to local industry. Mr. Cain is a 1933 graduate of LSU in chemical engineering.

**Contractors Educational Trust Fund Chair** is funded by the Contractors Educational Trust for the Department of Construction Management. A similar chair has been provided by the Contractors Educational Trust Fund for all of the construction management programs in the state. After the chair's establishment in 1992, Gregory P. Wilson was selected to be the first recipient. In 1995, Greg left LSU to accept a Contractors Educational Trust Fund Chair and department chairmanship at Northeast Louisiana University. In October 1997, Mr. James H. Gill, Jr., an attorney specializing in construction law, was named to fill this position.

**Dow Chemical Chaired Professorship of Engineering** is funded by Dow USA, a major College contributor and overall supporter of engineering education and research. The chair is intended to support research efforts on rotating machinery in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. After a national search, Dr. Michael M. Khonsari was selected in March 1999 to fill this position.

**Freeport-McMoRan Chaired Professorship of Engineering** is funded by Freeport-McMoRan in order to support intensified research in the area of recycling, in particular, the recycling of useable by-products. Their contributions enabled the College to establish the Institute for Recyclable Materials and to recruit Dr. John B. Metcalf, a civil engineer from Australia, for this chaired position in the Institute in January 1992.

**M. F. Gautreaux/Ethyl Corporation Chair in Chemical Engineering** is funded by Ethyl as a tribute to the late M. F. (Bim) Gautreaux, who headed their research operation in Baton Rouge. This former "research giant" and LSU alumnus is a member of the College of Engineering's Hall of Distinction and the National Academy of Engineering.

**Paul M. Horton Chair in Chemical Engineering**, established in 1998, to support the chairman of the Department and his research. This chair was funded by Gordon A. Cain, a 1933 graduate of LSU in chemical engineering.



**Oskar R. Menton Chair of Electrical Engineering** is being funded by Mrs. Mildred Menton in the name of her late husband, Oskar R. Menton. Mr. Menton, who died in 1997, was a 1938 electrical engineering graduate and retired general manager of Exxon. The chair will be financed over a number of years by contributions from Mrs. Menton, some of which will be matched by Exxon, with the remainder to be paid through a bequest.

**Ocean Energy Chair in Petroleum Engineering** was established in May 2000, by Ocean Energy, Inc. Ocean Energy, Inc. is an outgrowth of Flores & Rucks, Inc., a firm started in 1985 by James C. Flores and William W. Rucks IV, both LSU graduates. By 1997, the firm had become Ocean Energy, Inc. has become one of the largest independent oil and gas companies in the United States.

**Roy S. Sullins Chair in Petroleum Engineering,** to be funded through a Charitable Remainder Trust established by Mrs. Lucy Sullins, is to support an eminent scholar in the offshore petroleum technology area.

**Texaco Chaired Professorship in Environmental Engineering** is funded by Texaco, USA, due mainly to the encouragement of former Senior Vice President Elton G. Yates and Vice President Ramsey Farley. Texaco is a major supporter of the College in many ways. Dr. Andrzej Wojtanowicz, petroleum engineering professor, has distinguished himself through his outstanding contributions to the environmental aspects of petroleum engineering, and was selected in January 1998 to fill this position after an extensive national search.