

# **ENGINEER'S**

Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
Construction Management
Biol ogical & Agricul tural
El ectrical & Computer
Civil & Environmental
Mechanical
Petrol eum
Chemical

Monthly

### Professorship Awardees To Be Recognized

The College is recognizing six faculty members for various departmental professorships based on their outstanding merit and contribution to their departments, the College and the University. Professorships will be officially awarded on April 21, 2003, at a 2:30 p.m. award ceremony. Recipients of 2003 professorships of engineering are:



**David Constant** 



Guoxiang Gu



Subhash Kak



Aravamudhan Raman



Bhaba Sarker

**Professor W. David Constant** (CEE) will receive the Humphreys T. Turner Professorship of Civil Engineering. Dr. Constant has been a member of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department for 19 years and is associate director of the Hazardous Substance Research Center, South and Southwest. He received his Ph.D. in 1984 from LSU.

**Professor Roy Dokka** (CEE) will be awarded the Freuhan Family Professorship of Engineering. Dr. Dokka is the executive director of the Center for GeoInformatics and the director of the Louisiana Geodetic Reference Center and Positioning Service, and has been a member of the LSU faculty for 22 years. (Photo Not Available)

**Professor Guoxiang Gu** (ECE) will receive the F. Hugh Coughlin/CLECO Distinguished Professorship of Electrical Engineering. Dr. Gu received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1988 and has been a member of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department for 13 years.

**Professorships**, continued on page 2



Professorships, from page 1

**Professor Subhash Kak** (ECE) will receive the Donald C. and Elaine T. Delaune Distinguished Professorship of Electrical Engineering. Dr. Kak is a 24-year member of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. He received his Ph.D. from the Indian Institute of Technology in 1970.

**Professor Aravamudhan Raman** (ME) will receive the Chevron Professorship of Mechanical Engineering. He has served the Mechanical Engineering Department for 36 years. In 1964, Dr. Raman received his Ph.D. from Technische Hochscule in Stuttgart, West Germany.

**Professor Bhaba Sarker** (IMSE) is to be the 2003 recipient of the Elton G. Yates Distinguished Professorship. Dr. Sarker received his Ph.D. from Texas A & M in 1989 and has served the Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering Department for 13 years.

## Outstanding Faculty, Staff & Students Honored

The College of Engineering will also present awards to faculty, administrative staff, and students on April 21, to recognize their outstanding accomplishments. The following will be recognized:

Su Seng-Pang (ME), Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Michael Khonsari (ME), Outstanding Faculty Research Award
Dante Fratta (CEE), Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award
Martin Feldman (ECE), Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award
David Constant (CEE), Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award
Margaret Brewer (Dean's Office), Outstanding Administrative Support Staff Award
Cherry McKenzie (DES), Outstanding Professional Support Staff Award
Chandra Vijapurapu (PETE), Outstanding Graduate Research Award
Meillin Du (PETE), Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Achievement Award
Lisa Rodriguez (CEE), Undergraduate Good Ambassador Award

# Levitan Appointed President of AAWE



**Mark Levitan** (CEE, Hurricane Center) was recently elected to serve as president of the American Association for Wind Engineering (AAWE). He will assume the role of president-elect in April 2003 for two years, followed by a two-year term as president. The mission of AAWE is to support and enhance research, education and technology transfer activities in all aspects of engineering, from wind resistance of buildings to wind erosion and wind energy production. Levitan serves as

director of the LSU Hurricane Center as well as Charles P. Siess, Jr. Professor in Engineering and Associate Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering. He is a 1993 doctoral graduate of Texas Tech.

### **Exemplary Dissertations Rewarded**

The College of Engineering is proud to announce the recipients of the annual COE Exemplary Dissertation Award. Following the recommendation of the College of Engineering Graduate Coordinators Council and the approval of **Dean Pius J. Egbelu**, plaques of acknowledgement will be extended to winning nominees during the 2003 Spring Commencement Exercises at LSU. The Exemplary Dissertation Award was established in 2001 and is given annually to recognize outstanding doctoral research. The number of awardees each May is dependent on the number of doctoral degrees presented the previous year. This year, Dean Egbelu and **Mehmet Tumay**, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, led the College in congratulating two doctoral graduates:

**Solomon Ovueferaye Inikori**, a student in the Craft & Hawkins Department of Petroleum Engineering, has completed his dissertation titled, "A Numerical Study of Water Coning Control with Downhole Water Sink (DWS) Well Completions in Vertical and Horizontal Wells." Inikori was advised by **Andrzej K. Wojtanowicz**, Texaco Endowed Chair and Professor of Petroleum Engineering. Dr. Inikori will receive his doctorate in May.

**Vetle Ingvald Torvik**, a student in the Engineering Science Interdepartmental Program has completed his dissertation titled, "Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery: A Guided Approach Based on Monotone Boolean Functions." **Dr. Evangelos Triantaphyllou**, Professor of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering advised Dr. Torvik in his research.

#### Gill Bestowed with Awards

James H. Gill Jr. (CM) received the 2003 W. A. Klinger Construction Education Award from the American Institute of Constructors (AIC). This national award, in its 27th year, seeks to honor a construction educator for his service to his field, university and country. He was selected for this award based upon his significant work in the area of construction ethics. Professor Gill is the second of two Louisiana educators to have received this award.

Gill has also been awarded the 2003 Outstanding Educator Award by the Associated General Contractors (AGC) of American Education and Research Foundation at its national convention. In its 19<sup>th</sup> year, the Outstanding Educator Award is given to a qualified applicant who is a full-time teaching faculty member of a university construction or civil engineering program with at least five years full-time teaching experience. The AGC Outstanding Educator is presented with a \$2,000 stipend award and two \$2,000 scholarship awards to be given to construction management students Nicholas Rockforte and Renee Duplantis. The Associated General Contractors of American Educational Research Foundation was founded in 1986 as a non-profit charitable organization dedicated to improving the science of construction.

